We will help you figure out who blocked you on Instagram!! Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms available today. As of last year, Instagram has reached more than 1 billion active monthly users and 500 million daily users. With this many people in one place, there is bound to be some form of quarrel. Instagram users have produced some outstanding content, such as high-quality photography, unique videos, and funny skits. However, a massive social media platform like Instagram also creates heated arguments, controversial topics, and dissent. Eventually, leading to someone being blocked. If you are curious and wanted to know if someone blocked you on Instagram, then you are in the right place!
What Does It Mean To Be Blocked On Instagram?
We’ve all been there. Being blocked on Instagram is one of the worst feelings to experience. It’s painful and causes a rollercoaster ride of emotions. Sometimes it’ll be quite obvious who blocked us on Instagram. On the other hand not so much. One day you’ll look up someone you were following and realize they are no longer there. Now, you’re left curious and desperate to see if this person has blocked you.
You’ll also wonder if you’ve been removed instead. There’s a major difference between being blocked vs. being removed on Instagram. When someone removes you from Instagram you still have access to their account. You can still view there profile, you can re-send them follow requests and you can even direct message them if their account is set to public. Although their name won’t appear in your follower’s list anymore, you can search for their name in the Instagram directory and still view their profile.
On the contrary, when you’re blocked on Instagram, any ties you had with that person will be cut. You won’t be able to find them in the search directory. Moreover, you will have absolutely no way of contacting them. The most annoying thing is that Instagram will not notify you in any way that you’ve been blocked, oftentimes leaving you confused and upset. But don’t worry, we’ve got a couple tricks up our sleeve that’ll help you find out and see who blocked you on Instagram.
How To Know Who Blocked Me On Instagram?
Unfortunately, there’s no “list” or anything where you can see all the people who have blocked you. Nevertheless, here are some reliable ways you can check to see if you’ve been blocked by someone and in most cases, these methods will suffice.
Method #1: Ask A Mutual Friend
One of the easiest ways to tell if you’ve been blocked by someone is to search for their name on a mutual friend’s account. First, check to see if this person appears in your search directory. If they do, you’ve simply been unfriended or removed. Now if they don’t appear on your search directory, but appear on your mutual friend’s account, then we’re sorry to say that you’ve most likely been blocked. In an additional case, if the person doesn’t appear on both your accounts then they may have deactivated their account.
Method #2: Check Your Direct Messages (DM’s)
Note, this method will only work if you’ve had a previous conversation with the person. Instagram automatically hides a users’ chat when they have blocked you. Hence, you can use this feature to check if you’ve been blocked or not. Just open direct messages by clicking on the paper plane icon in the top right corner.
Then, search for the user in the chat’s search box. If their name appears, you’re safe and have not been blocked. However, their name does not appear in the chat thread, then we’re sorry to say that person has most likely blocked you on Instagram.
Method #3: Check Your Followers/Following List
Another simple way to check if you’ve been blocked is by perusing through your followers or following list. Your ‘Followers’ list shows the users on Instagram who are following you. Similarly, the ‘Following’ list shows all the users you are following.
The person who blocked you on Instagram, will not appear on either of these lists. Visit your profile, and click on Followers/Following and search the name in the bar at the top to see if you can find their username. If it doesn’t show up its another good sign that you’ve been blocked. Moreover, as a side note, the user will only appear in your follower’s list if they were following you in the first place.
Third-Party Apps To See if someone blocked you on Instagram
There a lot of apps or “Analytics Tools” that claim they can let you know if someone blocked you on Instagram. In most cases, these apps will allow you to visualize things like “See Who You’re Following But Not Following Back” for free (this you can easily do manually within Instagram itself), and then charge a price to know who blocked me on Instagram.
This is a scam, these app developers use to try and steal your money. In the end, these apps will not work, and it may even possibly get your account banned. Moreover, it’s quite possible that these apps will install malware and viruses onto your device. It’s also common for these apps to phish out your account details, hack into your account, and use it as a spam account. Heed our advice and stay away from these sketchy apps!
Most of these methods work in conjunction with each other. Meaning, you’ll have to check all three methods, to be 100% sure that someone has blocked you instead of simply removing or unfriending you. If you have any questions or doubts, please leave it in the comments below.